Death of an Ink Slinger by Dee Rea

For Chris Hamilton, who gave a starter at the Tampa Bay Book Fair hosted by Wordier Than Thou:

I only got into the Ink Slingers Guild after killing someone.

She said as she gazed into the night sky. They were laying on a blanket in the middle of the cemetery close to her favorite tree. It was a majestic oak.

“Oh, you’re so full of shit!” He laughed at her.

“Nope, it’s the truth. You asked, I answered.” She huffed, crossing her arms in front of her. His laughter angered her and made her want to kick him in the shin.

“Oh ho ho! I call horse pucky! You did not kill anyone, Drea. You’re too sweet to have killed anyone. “

“I did!” She replied turning onto her side to slap his torso.

“Ok Pookie, tell me how you killed someone to get into your little writers’ group.” He chuckled holding his belly and captured her hand in his.

Curling against him, she tucked her free hand under her chin. “Don’t Pookie me, I’m a vicious killer.”

“Alrighty Snookums, since you’re such a vicious killer, tell me how you did it. I know you were trying to get into that group for the longest time.”

“Oh I’ve got your Snookums right here! But if you must know, it took me months of planning and preparation to get it done right and without any way of pointing back to me.”

“You gonna keep me in suspense or are you going to spill it?” He asked tucking her closer to his form.

“It was easy really. I just made it so that her heart gave out. Fear is a strong companion.” She went on to tell him of befriending the woman, spending time with her, and getting to know her. She went into great detail about the house the woman rented, down to the pictures on her nightstands. She felt him stiffen in her arms. She continued to tell her tale of building a web of horror. The woman’s greatest fear was drowning in snake filled water.

“That’s pretty specific isn’t it? I mean most would be scared of one or the other.” He said as he tucked one of his arms under his head to look up at the stars.

“She was an interesting person. I found that the more I got to know her, the less I liked her and the more I looked forward to watching her die.” She tucked her foot down between her legs. She continued her tale of deceit and betrayal. Her temper was rising under the cool exterior that she let him see. She told him of the days leading up to the death and the things that she’d done the day of. “The easiest part was getting the concrete into her shower drain. Did you know that she only bathed maybe two or three times a week? Well, that led to plenty of time for the concrete to harden. Once that was done, it was just a matter of waiting for her to shower.”

She told him of the glass doors that the woman had made into some sort of tacky mirrors. She then told him the details surrounding the woman’s demise and the clean up afterwards. She held him tight in her embrace as she lowered her voice to a whisper.

“Just like your greatest fear is the undead… strange that you’d meet your lover’s killer in a cemetery isn’t it”

Leave a comment

Filed under Dee Rea

Leave a Reply

